Chinese-Forums

Ok, so who knows Russian/is Russian?

xianhua

The inside of my coat has something which I perceive to be in Russian. My assumption for it being Russian is based on an Aeroflot flight in which I spent a good few minutes flicking through the airline catalogue. It was here that I noticed a letter which looked rather like 中. Now obviously being a linguistic expert, I decided that Russia, being near to China, had borrowed a letter in ancient times to make up the numbers (I'm sure this is absolute nonsense but those flights can be boring and a little imagination passes the time). :lol:

Anyway, the coat is quite military in it's appearance, so hopefully it says something tough like 'comrade general'. If it makes absolutely no sense whatsoever, then karma will have been served, since I've spent many a good hour walking around the streets of China secretly sniggering at kids wearing T-shirts with random English words printed on the front.

If it's offensive, then please contact the retailer.

2733_thumb.attach

Edited by xianhua

I'm pretty sure that letter is from the Greek letter phi, not Chinese. I think Russia only had contact with China from the 17th century when it started to expend out over Siberia, before then they were pretty much a European country and so wouldn't really have had any chance to borrow Chinese characters.

The letter is Ф and is close to English F in pronunciation. The set of characters on the picture is indeed from Russian alphabet, but is completely random. Couple letters are upside down.

As fanglu correctly pointed out, Russian Фф [ef] came after Greek Φφ [phi], not in any way from Chinese. By the way, Russian equivalent of English saying "Greek to me" is something that literally means "Chinese grammar", that's how close the two languages are. :)

Is this coat made in China?

Strangely enough, yes. Thankfully they put 只可专业干洗 in Chinese, just for me.