Chinese-Forums

Buying a sword in Beijing and taking it back home...

Alleluia

This is probably a very strange sounding topic, but I am thinking of buying a Chinese sword as a birthday present to my boyfriend who loves old swords.

I'm currently in Beijing and am going back home to Finland in the end of August. I don't even dream of finding a real antique sword, let alone being able to afford one, but would just like to find a sword that at least looks old and authentic enough. I haven't really looked anywhere yet, so I don't know if there are that kind of objects readily available at antique markets. I was thinking about going to Panjiayuan "dirt market" on Sunday to have a look around, and I'm hoping I will find something. Any other good places to shop for these kind of souvenirs? I am not an expert in old stuff, let alone swords, so I will probably end up buying anything that looks good enough in my uneducated eyes.

Does anyone have any idea if I will have any difficulties in taking a sword away from the country, even if it isn't antique? I guess it won't be easy to hide, since they check your luggage with x-rays at the airport... Should I just put the thing in my suitcase and hope for the best? Do they generally care at all what tourists take out of the country?

Thanks for anyone who can help me at all!

Why, though, unless there's a tax I should pay for taking the object out of the country? You can take kitchen knives in your luggage too, as long as the luggage is checked in and thus goes in the hold of the plane. Not in the hand baggage of course!!! :D What I'm after basically is: do the authorities check the kinds of souvenirs you are taking out of the country, and is there any risk that I might have to pay something for taking an "old" sword with me, since I can't really hide the fact that I have one in my luggage?!?