Chinese-Forums

How to use the interval filter

Olle Linge

Hello everybody,

I've been using ZDT for more than two years now and I doubt I've spent more time using any other program during this time. Why? Because the interval filter is everything I need to expand my vocabulary and review what I've learnt earlier. I've put some effort into writing an article about the interval filter, including things such as why it's good, how it works, how I use it, etc. I've put the article on my website, which you can read by following the link below. I'd be very happy for any comments on how to make the article clearer, or even more happy if someone else would share their own experience with suing the filter. Enjoy!

Learning Chinese using ZDT's interval filter

Olle Linge

凌雲龍

www.snigel.nu

Olle, just read your article on the interval filter. The writing was very clear and its English was excellent (i never make this compliment lightly). I'm using Mnemosyne and Anki so i'm familiar with SRS but didn't know anything about this particular filter. Actually, it sounds quite interesting. I've a few questions for you:

- how easy would it be to migrate one's database from Mnem and Anki to ZDT AND preserving the ratings one has given to one's entries? There's no point in reinventing the wheel.

- how many categories can one create? I like to use many categories and once i thoroughly know a category's contents combine it with other categories in some sort of default category. I've just devised a new approach to reading that will generate even more categories on an ongoing basis.

- does ZDT hold up well once the database reaches a certain number of entries.? In Mnemosyne I'm currently at 8,000 plus. Next year, this will be well over 10,000 and i've heard that the current version of Mnemosyne slows down once the database exceeds 10,000 entries.