Chinese-Forums

想了半天 and other questions

Kai13

I don't really understand the meaning of this expression. My teacher told me it means "a long time ago", that true?

Okay, I know that 的 is a possessive particle, but I don't really understand it in the following sentence: 姓李的没有儿子。 I know what the sentence means, but I don't undertand what the grammar explanation for 的.

And what is 是 doing in this sentence? 他是说我没有儿子。 (he said I had no son?) Emphasizing?

What is 啊 doing in this sentence: "他是说我没有儿子啊!"?

谢谢你!

Thanks a lot! You sure were helpful :wink: 谢谢!

Anyone else please.

Oh, other question, I don't really understand how to use a verb like this 问问, for example. Could someone give me a few example sentences (2 or 3, so I can understand better) and a brief explanation? I am still a newbie. I started mandarin 2 months ago, I know like 130 characters or a little less/more

Example sentences for the previous questions would also help.

Okay, I know that 的 is a possessive particle, but I don't really understand it in the following sentence: 姓李的没有儿子。 I know what the sentence means, but I don't undertand what the grammar explanation for 的.

的 is not only a possessive particle, here it is a nominaliser.

And what is 是 doing in this sentence? 他是说我没有儿子。 (he said I had no son?) Emphasizing?

yes. Li and Thompson call this use "marker of special affirmation", meaning "it is true that...".

I'm sorry, but what is a nominaliser? :oops:

I edited my previous post by the way ;)

Here is the first part of the text I'm now studying:

从前有两个人,一个姓李,一个姓王。姓李的没有儿子, 姓王的没有女儿。 姓王的常常叫姓李的"老木"姓李的开始不知道是什么意思, 想了半天, 才明白: "他是说我的没有儿子!·

The bold parts are what I understand less.

Thank you all.

No, it's not a typo. In my book and in the dictionary appears that liwu as "gift, present", which is the meaning I intended.

Could someone please tell me when to use the verb twice such as in 问问。My teacher said it has to express like "a little question"

我写汉字写得漂亮。