Chinese-Forums

How easy is it to find work?

NewMoon

Hi everyone, I’ve been looking at these forums quite a bit recently, just hoping someone could maybe give me some advice!

I’m a 25 year old male from the UK, I have a BSc and just finished an MSc but I’m having a lot of trouble finding any decent work in the UK and I’m becoming a bit sick of it. I was in China for about 3 months a couple of years ago and did a short mandarin course and I’ve been getting lessons in the UK too so I know enough mandarin to get by/get around and I’m really keen to become fluent. Anyway my sister just moved to Beijing and I’ve been thinking a lot about going back to teach as I’ve heard teaching jobs are fairly easy tona agai come by.

But there’s a few things holding me back, first of all I haven’t got much money at all, I could afford a flight over to China but don’t really have enough to live out there for long, so I’d need to find something fairly quickly! And secondly I don’t have a teaching certificate or any experience.

So I’m wondering just how easy it’d be to pick up work out there, I’m thinking of heading out late feb/march 2010, I’ve heard universities are good places to start teaching, is it just a matter of emailing them and asking for a job? I’m reluctant to sign up to anything while I’m in the UK but I’m also a bit worried about flying out to China and not finding anything/running out of money.

I’m not looking for loads of money, but if I could live well and save a bit each month, as well as have time to study Chinese that’d be perfect. I’ve a couple of places in mind, probably either Chengdu, Xiamen, or Qingdao

Any information or advice would be much appreciated!

Cheers:)

Larry

i don't think for a man,without any experience and certificate, to find a teaching job in a university in China is easy now. Because there are too many foreigners(native English speaker) in China now. perhaps you can have a try in some 2nd-tier cities.~~

have a try, and good luck~~~