Chinese-Forums

Qooco (Skritter for your mouth?)

chinopinyin

Chinese forums gave me an invitation to be a beta tester (http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/21880-beta-test-language-learning-software-voice-and-tone-recognition) for Qooco(http://www.qoocochinese.com), so I think it is fair that I report back on my experience

The most interesting feature of Qooco is its automatic speech and tone recognition technology. It is true that here are other programs/websites out there that incorporate this type of technology, such as Rosetta Stone or Lingt (http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/23671-lingt-srs-learning-with-voice-recognition&highlight=lingt), but my impression is that Qooco’s software is substantially more accurate and provides more information. For instance, each syllable is rated (I am sure some people will quickly point out that teachers rate tones and pronunciation better, but that is another issue).

I have been using Qooco for two months now and have found it to be a really useful tool to check my tones and pronunciation. My Chinese is pretty elementary, so people like me would benefit a lot by assessments by native/very advanced speakers.

There are, of course, some things that need to be polished. Particularly providing summary information (and not just very detailed one) on users’ errors, adding review lessons or including additional exercices. There are also some issues regarding speed (even though it has substantially improved in the last month) and the need to download an application.