Chinese-Forums

How hard is it really - from someone who has taught BEFORE China

aelfwyne

I constantly see 'horror stories' about long hours, difficult classes, etc. However, I'm wondering just how hard it really is.

For comparison, here in the states, I graduated with my BA and applied at a school in desperate need of teachers after Hurricane Rita. I applied with the state to get my probationary teaching certificate in English, but the school district actually put me in a 9th grade classroom teaching SPANISH, which I had only had 2 years of in college. Being an inner city minority school, at the bottom of academic rankings, none of these kids wanted to learn Spanish, but the school required it, assuming it would increase TAKS scores. These poor kids couldn't understand after weeks on the topic, the difference between the irregular conjugations of Tener and Ser. Not for lack of my teaching ability I believe - I was the 5th teacher they'd had that year, and they simply refused to pay attention in class.

Other teachers with whom I worked felt I was doing a great job with the class, but I didn't think so. I spent several hours each day after school working with other teachers, grading papers, or simply preparing the next day's lessons. I typically left home at 6am and didn't get home till 8pm.

Discipline problems were rampant. Students would fight in class, sexually harass the girl, and threaten teachers. The administration wasn't willing to do anything unless there was something CONCRETE, such as if boys were harassing girls, we couldn't do/say anything unless there was physical sexual contact. If a student directly threatened us, we had to call it a 'terrorist threat' otherwise parents would be able to object to any punishment, so no punishment would be given.