Chinese-Forums

Help! Don't know whether to directly enroll at Peking Uni, & PDF appl. not working

Holly

I am having a minor breakdown right now.

I had been planning on going through a program at my school to study at the China Studies Institute (http://www.studyabroad-china.net/) at Peking University. I wanted to do the immersion track, where you get about 24 hours of class time per week in very small classes, and get an apartment with a Chinese roommate. Speaking English outside of the classroom is also a no-no. I was planning on going for a semester, since I can not afford a full year ($21,000 - yikes).

A few days ago I came across someone at my school who studied for a year at Peking University. I asked her how she afforded it, and she said she directly enrolled there. Said it cost her around the same, if not less, than I would be paying for just a semester (9,400, not including health insurance)! I was devastated and totally confused, because I'm completely new to this whole studying abroad thing. I never knew direct enrollment was even an option. Sure enough, I go online, and they say tuition's about $4,000 per year for an international student. WHAT?! That doesn't include housing, food, and transporation of course, but...WHAT?!

So I tried to download the application for international students, and get this - their PDF application files are DOWN! I get an error message on every computer I try. The problem is on their end. I think, no problem, I'll email them. I got an automatic email back saying they're on break until Feb 25. APPLICATIONS ARE DUE MARCH 15, and I have no clue what applying would all entail!

I've already set my application for the China Studies Institute in motion, of course, as it's due March 1. But now I'm terrified I made the wrong choice, I just don't know what to do. I would appreciate any, ANY advice you can give me. :cry:

I've asked this in other threads before, but why would you pay American prices in China?