Chinese-Forums

A few very simple beginner questions

jachristen

Hello. I recently started studying Chinese as a hobby. The resources I'm currently using are Rosetta Stone (for pronunciation and speaking practice), nciku (for confirmation regarding definition and proper stroke order for writing practice), and Modern Mandarin Chinese Grammar (obviously, for grammar). I was hoping I could get some clarification regarding a few basic questions:

1) Regarding 在: my grammar book says this indicates the verb is happening in the present, but lists another character as indicative of the progressive tense. Grammatically speaking, does 在 simply provide more information about a sentence then while not itself being indicative of progressive tense? Can 我在睡觉 and 我睡觉 mean the same thing grammatically, with the former simply being more informative? 

2) Regarding 不 and 没: my grammar book says 不 is for present, future, and habitual negations while 没 is for past tense negations, but Rosetta Stone seems to use 没在 for present-tense negations (e.g. 这个男孩子没在开车。). What is the explanation for this?

3) Regarding usage of certain verbs: certain verbs seem to be given different objects for different subjects (e.g. 这个男人在跑步 vs 这匹马在跑, or 这个男人在游泳 vs 这只狗游水 vs 这条鱼游。). Is doing something like dropping the 步 for a person less formal, insulting, or simply ungrammatical?

Thanks in advance. I'm very new to the language, so please be forgiving of questions that probably have very obvious answers.

1) It indicates that the action is taking place. Chinese doesn't have tenses in an indo-european sense, so it doesn't mean it is taking place now, just that it is/was in the process of happening when something else happened.

For example:

你给我打电话的时候,我在看书 - when you called me, I was reading a book