Chinese-Forums

Cantonese without Cantonese in it :P

trusmis

I've just started to self-taught Cantonese and I find that most online material teach things like hai (係) that is supposed to be super-basic level vocabulary and find it everywhere

For instance, Cantonese wikipedia is full of those.

But on the other hand, listening to songs and reading the lyrics I can not find any of that supposed basic vocabulary

For instance:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Og696MpmmeM&NR=1

http://www.chlyrics.net/idx.php/act-lrc/sid-583/did-3683/lid-38281

In fact, I have not found any specific for Cantonese character in any of the lyrics of that artist. :conf

For instance they use 這 (pronounced like je) but I haven't seen 呢

There are two kinds of Cantonese?

Edited by trusmis

Yeah, most modern songs are like that. The only songs I've seen actual Cantonese in are rap songs, or the rap parts of songs. Otherwise, they all seem to be written like in Mandarin, but with Cantonese pronunciation, this is normal.

They will understand you, but they will find it weird, but not if you're singing, which is why I find them weird. Someone should sing in Cantonese using Mandarin pronunciation just to shove it in their face.

Have you listened to songs by Jin? He's an ABC rapper.*

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Jin+&search_type=&aq=f