Chinese-Forums

Question on studying in China over the summer at BLCU or BFSU

wingman

I'd really appreciate it if I got some advice as I have not found any information on these forums pertaining to my particular situation.

I am a freshman in college. I am currently in my second semester of Mandarin, ever. I've never been to China. I would like to do something Chinese related this summer, but the Harvard and Princeton programs are too expensive for me. I was looking at applying to BLCU or BFSU, but I don't know if it is recommended for a person with my level of Chinese. Which school would be better for what I want to do? Which school is better overall in the sense of being foreigner-friendly? WIll I enjoy my time in China and at the same time practice and improve my Chinese during one of their summer short-terms?

If you do recommend either of the two schools for my situation, what other suggestions and tips to you have?

Thanks

Our local city college has a Chinese department and they have a yearly educational fun trips to China every summer (19 days). When I went years ago, it used to be quite affordable. Maybe a junior college near you might have a program like this.

I appreciate the response but I do not wish to go to China just for fun. I want to have some sort of language education component. I have looked at programs at other schools other than Princeton or Harvard which are the expensive ones, but most have deadlines that have already passed or they cost close to what Harvard or Princeton programs cost.

My personal opinion is that going to China after two semesters is premature, and a summer term will be too short for that. You will speak a lot of English in everyday life, even if you manage to avoid your fellow Westerners. (This is where Middlebury is different as they force everyone from all language levels to speak the target language, punishing violators by sending them home, OTOH in China many Chinese will be eager to speak English with you).