Chinese-Forums

Learning to WRITE hanzi

Kevinman

Im a University Student, This is my 2nd year studying chinese, I recognize around 600 charactors but I can only wright like 10....

I have an exam in about a month, and its requiring me to write lots of characters "Write in chinese using 100 charactors about any topic...blahblahb"

I worked it out i need to learn to WRITE 3 different chinese characters everyday to get a decent mark in my exam.

How do I do that? please someone help me!

Have you asked your teacher for advice? I imagine that in a second-year course expecting students to be able to write, the teacher would at least explain some approaches.

You could create flashcards or use an SRS program to learn them. Search these forums, as there's been plenty of discussion on this topic. The most important part is to write all the characters you need to know for your exam many times, until you know them by heart. For example, learn five characters today, then do another five tomorrow and repeat all earlier ones. Repeat until done. And don't forget to pay attention to stroke order.

Of course, only knowing how to write the characters won't be enough to write a decent composition, since that would also require you to have knowledge of the vocabulary and the grammar points introduced in your course.

You know enough words already? In pinyin, right?

You could just pick 100 or so common words from those you know and cram them, with or without a flashcard program such as mnemosyne. That's doable. BUT, please do yourself a favor and learn the stroke order rules too as you're doing this.

The online flashcard program Skritter would be one way to get started immediately. It will enforce the stroke order rules. They become automatic very quickly.

Stroke order rules and 100 characters/words in a month? Words you already know? It should be doable.