Chinese-Forums

TEFL long-term career in China - problems?

markwhiteman

Hi, I've a few questions about the viability of teaching English as a foreign language (TEFL, TESOL it's sometimes called) in China for a long period of time - longer than six months at least.

Some background:

(1) I recently quit university but have enough credits to earn an Associate's degree, which means I've got a degree but not a BA or BSC.

(2) I already have 120hrs experience teaching English in France, but without a TEFL-qualification.

(3) I have signed up for a 'placement' for 4.5 months in China, starting August 2010, but will wish to extend my visa for at least another six months.

(4) I've been told I need and will have help getting, from the school hosting my placement, a Z-Visa.

Questions:

(a) How easy is it to extend my visa, if I find employment, when I have an Associate's degree?

(B) Where can I find TEFL employment once in China? Are there recruitment agencies?

© If I wanted to stay in China for the foreseeable future, i.e. 3 years plus, what potential barriers are there? (e.g. Visa, taxes)

(d) I'm taking a course in Chinese Mandarin before I start the placement (4-6 weeks of 30hrs), but once I've started teaching funds will be low: how can I learn Chinese whilst I work as an English teacher? What are the cheapest options?

(e) Keeping it within the remit of the aforementioned, does anyone have similar experiences or aims?

I hope that's clear enough and look forward to your responses.

Many thanks, Mark

Mark

Current regulations state that foreign teachers require a minimum of a bachelor's degree and two years' teaching experience to be issued the appropriate permissions to teach in China.

This is likely to be changed to a minimum of a Master's degree within the next 3 to 5 years.