Chinese-Forums

BLCU Fall 2010

GustavM

Hey guys! ill be going to BLCU next fall for a year, most likely in the beginners class although i have some background in chinese as i lived in Beiijing from age 13-15. Id love to start networking with other people on the same boat as me so feel free to drop a line.

Thought I would throw out a suggestion to any new comers or current students at BLCU. Instead of taking the 30 hour intensive course, you may want to check out language partners/tutors/private schools outside of the regular 20 hour week. I know everyone learns differently, but I just started at a private school in the afternoon and wish I had done it earlier.

I have been a student at BLCU since last September. The teachers and materials are great, but it's a little frustrating having 22 students in a 口语 class. I haven't had much luck with language partners and I need the discipline of a class environment. Someone may correct me that on average a tutor or private school is around 30 kuai an hour.

I'm still looking for a short cut to learning Chinese, so I'll let everyone know when I find it...

I'm in class at BLCU everyday from 8:30am-12:30pm. My private school has class from 1:20pm to 2:50pm, so a total of 5.5 hours everyday. This isn't for everyone as a former classmate just dropped the private school after two weeks. Yet, the nice thing about a language partner/tutor is you can dump them with one phone call. Seems a lot of private schools will charge one month at a time.