Chinese-Forums

The Passive Voice

rmpalpha

I am currently a first-year student, and my class is currently going over Lesson 25 in the New Practical Chinese Reader. This lesson introduces the passive construction - my teacher typically gives a more detailed grammar explanation to accompany the text, and we went over constructions with 被/让/叫 in class today.

This whole concept of the passive construction confuses me, honestly. I've searched the threads here, and it seems that there are a whole bunch of other passive constructions in the Chinese language (which confuses me more), but that the Chinese language doesn't really have a passive voice (what?).

Here are some examples from the handout that my teacher prepared for the class, and my comments (please excuse any grammatical mistakes on my part):

我的自行车被我弟弟骑走了。

My bicycle was ridden away by my little brother.

This sounds quite awkward in English. Why not "我弟弟把我的自行车骑走了" - "My brother rode away on my bike"?

你的自行车经常被谁骑坏?

Your bike is often broken by whom?

This sounds like a more reasonable phrase in English - but why not "谁经常骑坏你的自行车?" - "Who often breaks your bike?"

王教授被学生请去吃午饭了。

Professor Wang was invited to lunch by his students.

I think this is one of the most reasonable English sentences from the handout. From that standpoint, the emphasis rests on the action - the professor was invited - rather than who made the invitation. Does this same emphasis exist in Chinese (which might give rise to a reason to actually use the construction)?

Note: I realize that my comments may suggest that I generally try to find a relationship between English (my native language) and Chinese language concepts. This is not necessarily the case - I am just trying to find logical applications of the 被 construction, and the only logic that I can find comes from languages that I know how to use already (such as English).