Chinese-Forums

How Much Improvement Can I Expect

bumclouds

Hey guys,

I'm just wondering if I can get some of your opinions.

I've been learning Chinese for about 18 months (1 class per week), I've been learning simplified Characters.

I graduate in 5 weeks time from my bachelors (yay!) and I'm going to go and study at MTC in Taipei for 6 months before returning back to my home country for a full-time engineering job. While I'm over there I won't be working, I'll just be going to Chinese class on weekdays and doing my homework at night.

My reading/writing ability currently only sits at about 800-900 simplified characters. My speaking/listening is slightly better becuase I practice a lot with friends and watch TV shows and listen to podcasts.

If I manage to do a 5 hour (intensive) class Monday-Friday, and do around 2-3 hours a night of homework, what improvement could I expect to see? Previously I have only been able to manage 1 hour a night because of my other degree and my part-time job - but in Taipei I'll have a lot more free time to study.

Andrew

• Like 1

I've been studying at the MTC for the past nine months, so I'm pretty familiar with the centre, but I don't think they have any five-hour intensive courses. The courses they offer are either two or three hours a day from Monday through Friday, with an additional three hours of homework a day, according to the MTC. But I don't think my teachers ever gave me more than an hour of homework a day. It depends on your teacher, I guess.

Anyway, the three-hour intensive classes are pretty good. The two-hour ones not so much; in those classes, you see lots of people who aren't really interested in studying Mandarin and merely want to have a good time abroad, enjoying Taiwan's night life and everything. Of course, this is a generalisation, but the fact is, the pace of the three-hour classes is far quicker.