Chinese-Forums

Graduate Programmes In The Us/canada/uk

crazillo

Hello,

I am going to graduate next summer (2011). I am enrolled in Tuebingen, my major is Chinese Studies and my minor Political Science. Right now I am spending a semester abroad at Beijing Daxue. I would like to pursue advanced studies (graduate) in an English-speaking environment while continuing to learn Chinese. Possibly I'd like to go for a Ph D as well. However, I got a few questions.

1. Our BA is 3 years. Most BA (undergraduate studies) outside Germany seem to be four years. Is this a problem when applying?

2. Which schools can be recommanded for a graduate programme that focuses on contemporary, modern China, espacially East Asias Politics? At the same time, it should include further language training and also a possibility to come back to China.

3. Do I need a GRE?

I kind of like this programme at Columbia University.

http://www.columbia.edu/cu/gsas/departments/east-asia-regional-studies/bulletin.html

http://www.columbia.edu/cu/weai/marsea.html

Also, is it normal that university stuff hardly replies? I feel a little bit lost myself as a lot of the requirements are very different from German universities. We're used to have certain plans where you can see your study programme in advance. However, those websites describing programmes in the US/UK are quite unprecise. I'm not sure if that means you can choose yourself a lot.

Any information would be appreciated!

All major universities here have specific administrators for dealing with international students. For specific questions related to admissions, your best bet is to contact those people, e.g. for Columbia. While standards vary from school to school, I would expect that your current degree should be OK, and you will need to take the GRE and perhaps the TOEFL as well.