Character Stroke Order For 火

minsad77

hello there,

I was taught to write in this order:

1. the dot thing at the left

2. the big,long, facing the left thing

3. the right dot thing

4. the small, short thing facing right

=。= sorry it sounds weird. FYI, youtube is blocked in mainland China, thus I am not able to see some of the above links.

Hopefully you can understand what I am talking about. If you still need help, PM me and i will write it for you.

Hey,

I studied Japanese and the correct Japanese stroke order is: 1. little dash on the left. 2. little dash on the right. 3. long line going down to the left. 4. short line going down to the right. The Chinese stroke order should be the same.

I think there has been a thread about this before...?

The left-right-middle makes more sense if you write vertically, whilst the left-middle-right makes more sense if you write horizonally.

For this reason, different people write the character in different ways. You'll find educated people writing it in both ways.

• Like 1

The correct stroke order for 火 is dot, short丿, long 丿, ㇏ (田蘊章 (2004). 《歐楷解析》. 天津: 天津人民美術出版社. ISBN 7530525875).

The standard stroke orders of mainland China (source), Hong Kong (source), Taiwan (source), and Japan (source) are also like this. Therefore, there is no way the stroke order can be anything else.

• Like 2

I've always written it with the long stroke as the second one too, which is a bit embarrassing since 火 was probably one of the characters I learned in my first year of Chinese back in 1994. It's going to be be hard to correct 16 years of bad practice.

Same as myself though- I "started" learning 9 years ago and generally think my stroke order is "ok"ish, but ask me why I write it that way, and I just think that I pretty much use logic and guess.

I would have thought that a lot of laowai learners use a similar method.. :blink: :)