Chinese-Forums

How do you practise reading?

HedgePig

Most people seem to say that one should read a lot to improve one's Chinese - and this makes perfect sense.

However, although I'm beyond the absolute beginner stage, I find it difficult to practise reading because:

- if use new material, it will almost certainly contains lots of new vocbulary. Very good for vocab acquistion but I'm not really practising reading as I'm spending much more time looking and learning new words.

- if I revise material I've already used, then I find that my "reading" is really receiting because I know what comes next so I'm not really reading the characters.

So what is your strategy? Do you find it worthwhile to look at new material and not worry too much about words or characters you don't know. I find myself compelled to add every new word to my vocab list but then I spend too much time elarning rather than reading. Perhaps I shouldn't be quite so obsessed to try and memorise every new word. (Particularly as I'm not successful anyway!)

• Like 2

I tend to read on if I understand the context (e.g., if it's some character with food radical, and it's obvious that it's food from the context, I won't necessarily look it up there and then). If a word comes up several times and seems important to the story, I look it up.

The most important thing is that the material you're reading is not too advanced for you. If it is too advanced, you will need to use a dictionary very often, which will disrupt your flow. This can also be beneficial, but it's tedious.