Chinese-Forums

South East England Chinese learners

Shi Tong

Hello..

This forum has been great for looking at all kinds of new things and is really helpful when you're trying to think of new methods for learning stuff.

I was wondering though, weather or not there were any London/ South East England based people in the UK who were learning Mandarin and wanted to exchange ideas etc.. my main problem is that I'm not a beginner and I'm not an anvanced learner (especially with writing), so I feel I cant go to beginner lessons to learn the basics I know from 10 years ago and I cant go to intermediate.. I need to learn to write and seeing other people's learning material and books might be helpful- especially if I can find out how useful those have been to other students.

Same the other way around for those who might want to contact me- I might be able to direct people the right way in terms of what they're struggling with.. so is anyone around who thinks this might be a good idea?

• Like 1

Hi,

I am in south east England (live in Bershire and work in Oxon) and I have been self studying Mandarin for about 2 years now.

Like many in my situation, I have no real idea of my level. I did the HSK level 1 at SOAS last May and I feel I should have passed it easily. I could do the practice tests up to level 3. Right now I am trying to enroll in one of the SOAS intensive summer courses but there is some doubt about whether the intermediate course will run or not. I am not sure if I want to do the beginner level course, though I probably will if it is the only course available. I am also considering the an oxford university course as described here..

Up to now my study routine consists of:

*) arrive in work an hour early and study my text books. I use 'Elementary Chinese Readers' (ISBN 7-80052-135-4). I usually just copy out the text and try to do the exercises. I do about 1 lesson a week - sometimes less.