Chinese-Forums

Going to Kunming

faluang

Hello.

I wil be in Kunming and will be studying Mandarin for atleast 3 months and if I like I will be staying another 3 months.

I know Tenwest Mandarin school. I found them on the internet and offer private courses, if you know more about this school please comment.

Does Yunnan University also offer these kind of "more private" daily courses and do they issue student visa for these type of courses?

A Chinese friend told me I could find an apartment (+- 50 sqm - living room, bedroom, kitchen and bathroom) within a reasonable distance to the city centre for 1000 RMB. What if I want to rent an apartment in the middle of the city centre in a pleasent area for about 1500 RMB or less, is this possible?

I'm a Chinese language beginner and I need personal training. Any advice about where I should go to get my Mandarin Chinese language skills to the second level? I want to start learning pinyin only. I want to speak and understand. Later on I want to start learning the characters. What do you think about this?

So I need to find the right school where I could get the right personal training for me to start learning Mandarin as a beginner and want to know a good area in the city centre where I could find an apartment for 1500 RMB or preferably less.

The first days when I arrive I would like to stay in a pleasent hostel where there are other students to be found so I can feel comfortable ofcourse.

Shoot me some comments please.

Thank you and hands up if you give me advice! I would appreciate it alot. I travelled around China for about 2 months. Now i'm going back to learn the language. I started learning pinyin on my own, counting from 1 to 10 and further on. It would ofcourse be better to be there and practice it in the streets. I hope it's possible to have a conversation with someone in Mandarin overthere, is it?

Hi Faluang,

Let's tackle your questions one at a time:

1.Language schools