Chinese-Forums

Will a good BA degree in Chinese make me more desirable...

NiveaTango

So I graduated recently with a good degree in Chinese from a good university, and I want to teach English for a year or so before finding work. Will a degree make me a more desirable hire for the school and would it even be possible for me to teach classes in both languages?

I wouldn't be surprised if they would prefer someone with, eg, an English Lit degree. You might be preferred over someone with an entirely irrelevant degree I guess, but it's not going to be a massive advantage. Doesn't matter though, work's easy to come by.

Can't see that they'd want to spend all the money on a foreign teacher and then have them lecture in Chinese.

For some jobs, that might make you more desirable. For example, if you are teaching someone with a very low level of English (like kids) who won't be able to understand any complicated explanations of grammar/usage in English, but would understand much easier if you told them in Chinese.

It would be especially useful in a 1-on-1 setting, when you don't have an assistant teacher etc. to do this for you. In some schools I've worked in, it's just as Roddy said. They want the students to have exposure to English... not Chinese. (And reasonably so.)

What about emphasizing learning about the cultural aspects that (typical? should?) come with a Chinese degree? Do people think that would help, to understand questions better, less likely to leave half way through, etc?

• 5 weeks later...

It also depends where you got your degree, to legally be eligible for a Chinese work visa as an English teacher you would need a BA+ degree from a university in Australia, England, USA or similar, a native English speaking country. Not to say you couldn't do it without one.

Usually they prefer you not to speak any Chinese in class, or that has been my experience so far, so I wouldn't see it being a great advantage.