Chinese-Forums

Using students’ personal names in class

Arlo_

I am just about to start teaching English in China, at a university.

I have read that Chinese people often use personal names only with family members and close friends. Therefore I am wondering whether it is the convention to use these names when addressing students in Chinese classes.

I have also read that students (and others) sometimes adopt English names, but I would rather use Chinese names if that is likely to be acceptable to the students, because it seems more respectful.

Any advice would be appreciated.

For background, I am an experienced UK teacher with a recently obtained CELTA.

Since you are an English teacher, you shouldn't address them by their Chinese names in class. They will all have chosen English names by the time you see them (at least a certain percentage of which will be totally outlandish).

In Chinese schools at all levels, the teacher calls students by their full names. For example when I was a student, the teachers called me Meng Lelan, not simply Lelan.

In an English class in a Chinese school, it might be more convenient for you to use their English names in class because when you do oral drills, exercises, and discussions, it sounds more consistent with the English language with using others' English names.

You might have a look at this article for a slightly different point of view on the subject, as well as for the author's opinion the importance of how to address one's Chinese colleagues. Scan down to the section titled "What's in a Name?"

My link

Since you're teaching at a university, you'll probably have several hundred students who you see for 45 minutes a week. I wouldn't even worry about learning their names.

Some of my Chinese colleagues never even learned their students names. They just address them by their student numbers.