Chinese-Forums

Please help.. how to pronounce..?

Alveranter

Using the Yale transctiption of cantonese, the initials j (as in jeui = to chase) and ch (as in chim = to sign) , exactly how are they pronounced? Do they have mandarin equivalents?? Just by listening to the recordings, I just can't figure it out.. could be any sound to me.. Please help me with this one..

The chi in chim sounds somewhat like qi in Mandarin Hanyu Pinyin. The j is somewhat between the zh and z in pinyin.

Click on the sound icon in the following links to get the pronounciation of each one:

jeui1 (Yale) / zeoi1 (Jyutping): http://www.arts.cuhk.edu.hk/Lexis/lexi-can/search.php?q=%B0l

chim1 (Yale) / cim1 (Jyutping): http://www.arts.cuhk.edu.hk/Lexis/lexi-can/search.php?q=%C3%B1

Hmm... I'm not really a phonology expert so I'm not completely sure. I just go by what it sounds like to me... maybe it's more in between z and j in pinyin.

I guess it can be very similar to the G in George, however even English speakers may pronounce this differently depending on their dialect/accent. Some speakers may speak the G with rounded lips and their tongue lying at the bottom of the mouth, but some may speak it with unrounded lips with their tongue against their teeth and pulling it back as the consonant is spoken. The Cantonese j is more similar to the latter.

Using the Yale transctiption of cantonese, the initials j (as in jeui = to chase) and ch (as in chim = to sign) , exactly how are they pronounced? Do they have mandarin equivalents?? Just by listening to the recordings, I just can't figure it out.. could be any sound to me.. Please help me with this one..

追 between pinyin z and j, 签 between pinyin c and q.

Yeah... I think the best description is that the Yale j is basically between pinyin z and j, and the Yale ch is between c and q.

The IPA transcription for pinyin:

z = ts (unvoiced alveo-palatal affricate)

j = tʃ (unvoiced aveolar affricate)