Chinese-Forums

有点儿gay...

Brandon263

We were revising how to use 好 as an adjective today and my classmate gave an example that ended in 好吃啊. Our teacher responded saying that only girls/women can say that; apparently if a guy were to say that it would sound "有点儿 gay." :huh:

Yeah I think it was 好好吃啊 or something like that.

I doubt that anything was lost in translation though. She explained fully that it sounded 有点儿gay and only 同志 would say that.

I burst out laughing, but then after a while I was like hmm...

Phew, it's a good thing one sounds gay only when using it as a reduplicated adjective and not when using it as an adverb, i.e 你+好好休息/好好玩/好好吃(+吧) (in all cases it's hǎohāor). I've been using the latter ever since I started learning Chinese, and it would have been quite a shock to find out that I'd spoken like a 兔子 all this time.

No, seriously...

Phew' date=' it's a good thing one sounds gay only when using it as a reduplicated adjective and not when using it as an adverb, i.e 你+好好休息/好好玩/好好吃(+吧) (in all cases it's hǎohāor). I've been using the latter ever since I started learning Chinese, and it would have been quite a shock to find out that I'd spoken like a 兔子 all this time.[/quote']

好好 here isn't a reduplicated adjective. It's simply 好[intensifier] + 好吃[adjective], meaning the same thing as 真好吃.

"这碗面好好吃啊!" = "这碗面真好吃啊!"

I'm not sure how 好 sounds when used to intensify other adjectives: 她好漂亮喔 / 这节目好精彩啊 / 事情好复杂. It feels more neutral, but someone else will have to confirm it.

She explained fully that it sounded 有点儿gay and only 同志 would say that.

Maybe he learnt it from his Chinese girlfriend, just like many foreigners in Japan inadvertently speak femininely because they primarily converse with Japanese women :V

It's getting curioser and curioser...today she was on transvestites. She thinks they're 奇怪 of course, but more outrageously (though typically) suggested that the number of transvestites in China 还可以,but in Japan 有很多,很多。