Chinese-Forums

Food Costs in Dalian

MarsBlackman

I'm studying at LNU for the Spring of 2011. I've looked across these boards and various other sites and I've come to the conclusion that I should expect to pay 10 RMB per meal, roughly 30 RMB per day. I understand this is on the cheaper side. Is this a reasonable expectation for everyday eating?

No. It's too little.

You will find exaggerated posts on here by people who claim to live on next to nothing because they only eat old newspapers and random insects and are tougher and more thrifty than anyone else on the planet.

But realistically you should at least double your food budget, even if you plan to cook most of your own meals.

10 Rmb per meal is perfectly doable, in our canteen (the expensive good one) meals are between 5rmb and 9 rmb (you can eat more expensive stuff but that's usually more special stuff and designed to be eaten by 2 persons) a cup of machine coffee is 2rmb

If eating outside most of the time a set meal (means rice with a topping usually one vegtebale and meat) is not more expensive than 10 rmb (the only ones I see that are more expensive is if you want beef meat then they are 12rmb)

For example here is what I spend today on food :

Breakfast : 1 pancake, 1 egg in the canteen cup of coffee 3,8 rmb

Lunch : sheep meat with ognions on top of rice and a cup of coffee in the cantee 10 rmb

Afternoon : 1 cup of cappucion at the bakery while studying 7rmb

Dinner : spicy pepper with egg and rice 9 rmb

So I am at a total of 29,8 rmb didn't have anything during the morning at the 10 a clock break and nothing in the afternoon for tea-time. It is doable but i defenatly have days where I spend more (but sometimes also less)

SO