Chinese-Forums

Beginner's guide to Renmin University (人大)

Brian US

Is this post accepting responses?

The details on "classes" are a bit sparse. This is the most important aspect of a university, right? I hope more details can be provided! Long anecdotes, stories, details, numbers, etc., would probably be very helpful to students looking at different schools. This would probably require the comments of more than one person.

Hope to hear more!

Always welcome to constructive criticism, so I'll see what I can add.

I didn't really want to come out and say it, but I wouldn't suggest going to Renmin University to study language. Where the school excels, is in its major studies. This is where I have little to zero experience with, so I'm hoping other students will come along.

• 2 months later...
  • New Members

I spent the academic year '09/'10 studying at the school of business at RenDa.

I was also take language classes if I wanted, the class sizes were not a problem in my case (we had like 5-7 students for my classes).

best on-campus accomodation is 国际文化交流中心, besides housing the international office the first three floors are a hotel and the rest of the floors are a dormitory with single rooms with private bathrooms, internet and 24h hot water. rates vary depending on the lenght of the time spent there, around 80-100 RMB / night.

There is a Bank of China office close to the east gate too, 1st floor of a tall office building on your left when walking towards Zhongguancun. I prefer this location to the one on the west gate because I found that the several bank tellers spoke quite good english and I was not confident enough in my chinese to handle complicated stuff like money transfers etc.

• 1 month later...

Hi to everyone!