Chinese-Forums

pimsleur

guest1234

Nin Hao

has anyone used the tapes from pimsleur. Have they been any good and have they helped. I have only seen them mentioned on this forum I have not seen the here in the UK for sale.

I am just starting out properly and need all the help I can get.

cheers

phil

I went through the first set of Cantonese tapes and they were OK. I already know Mandarin so the similarity in languages helped. I then tried Egyptian Arabic and gave up because I couldn't get the rhythm of the language. I mention Arabic to say that it may or may not work for you. Even with Cantonese I found myself pronouncing some things incorrectly. My girlfriend, who knows a smattering of Cantonese, had to point this out when I tried some on her. I like it better than other all-tape courses, though, because it doesn't get boring. Other companies put out vocabulary tapes and I find them fairly useless.

One benefit of Pimsleur is getting an accent. When I tried the Cantonose with my girlfriend she asked why I have a good Cantonese accent when I don't have a good Mandarin accent. Repeating phrases helps :-)

I got curious and checked the UK Amazon page. The only Pimsleur courses they have are for Brazilian Portuguese and Albanian. I guess it may be hard finding the Chinese one there after all. There must be a big demand for Albanian courses in the UK.

In summary, Pimsleur isn't a bad way to start but it can get pretty expensive and won't take you all the way through the language. If you are really curious just get one of the beginner courses, that usually cost about $50, then see if you want to go farther. I stopped there because I didn't want to spend the money.