Chinese-Forums

Overcoming the Plateau

jiasen

I have been studying Chinese since the middle of 2007. This year, I completed the most advanced Chinese course that my university offers.

However, recently I feel like I'm banging my head against a brick wall. I studied mainly 书面语 this year, yet I still have problems with daily communication. Because I don't have Chinese friends to converse with, my spoken Chinese leaves a lot to be desired. I sat the HSK level 5 (new system) this year, and I failed because I found myself forgetting how to write many basic hanzi in the exam. Now and then, I find myself forgetting sentence structures that are simple and which I have used countless times (e.g. today I forgot how to say "give change" --> 找给你).

Has anybody here had a similar experience, and if so, how did you get yourself out of this place?

• Like 1

Yup, I've been there, and I am still working on it.

This is a very common problem, and it comes about because university courses leave huge, gaping holes in your knowledge. 4 years is barely enough to get a Chinese kid talking Chinese well, so 4 years of part-time Chinese study at a university will not by itself give you a sufficient background to use Chinese confidently. When you get to the point in a university curriculum where you study 书面语 and newspaper articles, your vocabulary will have been tailored so that you can follow the textbooks. You will therefore still struggle immensely with native-level material not tailored for the course, because there will be huge areas of the language you have not been exposed to.

Actually learning the language and internalizing all the grammatical structures is going to take immense amounts of repetition until the structures become lodged in your brain. The only way of doing this is maximizing your exposure to the language by, e.g., reading Chinese texts, watching Chinese TV shows and communicating in Chinese as much as possible.