Chinese-Forums

Studying Chengyu

Murray

I've been studying Chinese for three years now and after my first visit to China last year, I've been wanting to take my Chinese skill to the next level. After arriving back home, I was disappointed that after all this time, there's so much about Mandarin I don't know and need to work on.

Since then, I've been putting major emphasis on grammar, reading/writing, speaking and trying to master tones, but it occurred to me that for the most part, chengyu was something I was completely in the dark about.

Now, I have studied four character idioms in the past (not sure if those are the exact same thing as chengyu though) through various text books. A couple that I can remember off the top of my head are 望子成龙 and 舞蹈弄枪. While those were interesting to learn, they really haven't been useful in my day to day usage of Chinese. After learning them, there were times I used them when we were having class discussions on the chapter in class, but they haven't appeared on any of the tests and it's not as if they're entirely applicable in daily conversations with my laoshi or Chinese friends.

There're chengyu and idiom dictionaries I've come across that are relatively cheap (around $2-$10) but I wouldn't feel comfortable spending even that small amount of money on something that won't pay off or even be of use if it's more beneficial to just not worry about it in the long run. I'm well aware that a large part of the decision depends on my personal language goals; I met expats who've lived in China for decades who only know enough Chinese to hold basic conversation or order a meal and that works for them, but one of my goals is to reach a native grasp of Mandarin so my situation is entirely different.