Chinese-Forums

NPCR) Help with Textbooks and Chinese in General

牛juice

大家好!我叫牛juice。我會說日本語,但是我想學習中文。請你邦我嗎?

Hello everyone, I'm 牛juice, long story, anyways I am a student of Japanese and I have been fighting the urge to study Chinese.

I think it's a beautiful langauge, but I needed to keep my Japanese studies for the test to get into a good uni. Now that the test is over I am going to start Chinese starting on the first day of the year. I can allready read 2000 漢字, but Japanese is a mix between simplified and traditional. I have a huge interest in Taiwan so naturally I am going to learn 繁體字 but the professors I talked to in charge of Chinese in the uni I am going to go to is a symplified 漢字 enthusiast. (I don't think he would approve of my interest in Taiwanese pop. :L) So I will have to learn to write that for school. (By the way, how do you write "symplified hanzi" in English? 謝謝您!)

I used Heisig's method with Anki so I bought the symplified hanzi book and I will work through that the first month and finish he other 1500 hanzi when the other book comes out. (Which he says is soon.) After 6 months and 3000 hanzi I think I will learn the 繁體字 forms of the 3000 漢字. While I haven't really started Chinese I do know the basics and I learned a lot from both Japanese and Korean. My goal is to get 8000 words done before September -- A goal I think I can do considering my vocab intake of Japanese but this is a different language so I may have to adjust my expectations.