Chinese-Forums

Salary in Shanghi

1expatinchina

• New Members

Hi! I am new here. I am in Jiamusi and am finishing up a year and a half. I am considering some job opportunities in Shanghi. I am looking for general salary information. I have a teaching background. I have a Masters degree as well. The jobs I am looking at are for software development companies working on language programs for businessmen as well as children. They are needing a native speaker. I have not even visited Shanghi yet so I am wondering about cost of living and general salary. I am 37 and single so want to live in an area that is not remote.

Thanks for reading!

Nicolette

• Like 1

You're going to have a bit of trouble with the cost of living question, as it varies so much depending on your lifestyle. For example, Business Week ranked Shanghai the 28th most expensive city in which to live, but that assumes a Western ex-pat lifestyle. As soon as I post this, I'm going to have 20 people saying "that's so bogus, I live on YYY yuan per day!".

• Like 2

Thats so bogus, I live on 5 yuan a day!

Okay, just had to do it. It really depends on what kind of lifestyle you want, and what you're making now. You also mention not wanting to live in an area that is remote, Shanghai is certainly not remote, but there are areas of it that are extremely boring. You should find out what area the company is located, the most "connected" area of Shanghai is puxi, in my opinion, the further you get the less connected you are. There is also another forum called shanghaiexpat, dedicated to people living in Shanghai.

• New Members