Chinese-Forums

小马词典 oddity

David Wong

What do you see when you go to this link?

http://www.xiaoma.info/hanzi.php?hz=%E7%9B%B4

I don't see 直 like I expect, but a slightly different character. I attached an image of it. I've tried it with chrome, explorer and firefox.

Wondering if others have the same problem.

post-42025-049047900 1298664148_thumb.png

Hi,

yes I have seen that several times and being a beginner I was a bit confused as well. I did assume though, that these are just different

renderings and ignored the issue. See also:

http://www.fileformat.info/info/unicode/char/76f4/index.htm

http://www.fileformat.info/info/unicode/char/76f4/browsertest.htm

http://www.fileformat.info/info/unicode/char/76f4/fontsupport.htm

Cheers

hackinger

Same character can have a different shape in traditional and simplified Chinese, Japanese and Korean. There may or may not be fonts installed for all of them on your system. The page you referred to doesn't specify the language at all, so your browser picks whatever it thinks is the most appropriate out of what is available. Look at this page to see how the character is rendered on your system when the language is specified: http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/%E7%9B%B4 .

xiaoma provides simplified Chinese characters and would show the traditional version as well if it is different. However

for the character in question simplified and traditional versions are the same (All AFAIK).

Cheers

hackinger

Ok got it now, after I removed the dot from your link. (EDIT: The link has meanwhile been corrected).

My xinhua zidian only shows the version without the vertical stroke on the left. It probably ignores the Taiwanese stroke order.

Does that mean in Taiwan one uses (sometimes) the left vertical stroke, but elsewhere the traditional (Chinese) version is written without the vertical stroke?

Anyway, I bookmarked the wiktionary. Thanks for the link.

Cheers

hackinger

Hi,