Chinese-Forums

Moving to Nanjing

rsgc89

Hi,

I'm starting a bachelor's degree (International Business) at NUAA (Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics)this September. I have a lot of questions about Nanjing.

What's the cost of living? Is it easy to find a part time job as a student? I'm fluent in Spanish and English. Spanish is my first language but I learned to speak English at an early age so, people can barely notice my accent. I've been looking around to see what kind of jobs are there, and it seems that teaching English is the most popular, but most places ask for "Native speakers". Is there a demand for Spanish teachers? What's the minimum wage I would get if I was a part-time English/Spanish teacher?

I also would like to learn Chinese. What is the best option to learn Chinese? How is the nightlife in Nanjing? Do people like foreigners?

I think those are all my questions for now....

Thank you.

I'm in Nanjing now and should be able to answer a few of your questions.

1. Expect to spend about ~1000-1500RMB a month on food, toiletries and local transportation if you are frugal.

2. You can find a job as an English teacher quite easily if you speak English with an American accent and -- sorry to say this -- are, or look, white. I think wages start around ~6000RMB/month (for full-time positions). You can probably charge 100 RMB or more per hour for private, part-time, tutoring sessions. I haven't heard of any schools that are looking for Spanish teachers.

3. Nanjing University and Nanjing Normal University are the best places for learning Chinese in Nanjing.

4. Most people are very welcoming and helpful to foreigners. You might have a bit of trouble if you don't know any Chinese at all, though, so you may want to learn a few basic words so that you can get around more easily.