Chinese-Forums

Recommendations for classes in London

cjb

Can anyone recommend (or warn against!) any classes in London? I'd like to study with a teacher, and be compelled to speak, for a few hours a week.

I've taught myself a few hundred characters, and I can speak a little, but my speaking is slow and my listening is terrible. A good goal for the next few months might be HSK level one, but I am open to suggestions.

Thanks for any help!

When I first learnt some Mandarin at SOAS nearly 20 years ago I was taught by the best chinese teacher I have ever had, a really nice guy called David Su.

David Su has now left SOAS and set up his own chinese language school in central London, the website is: http://www.meridiandao.co.uk/.

My sister is currently attending classes there and my chinese brother-in-law is currently going through their teacher training programme. ...Oh and I'm hoping to attend their HSK 5/6 preparation class too!

For complete beginners, David Su offers the first 16 hours of tuition free. You could always try this and see how you get on. The the only problem is, my sister says the tutors really expect you to do lots of homework between classes, especially learning to write the characters covered, and turn up prepared!

Over the years I have attended evening classes in London at SOAS, LSE (Confucius Institute for Business) and U. Westminster. They can be very good, or very poor, it all depends on the quality of the individual teacher you get and the dynamic of the group of students attending.

I have occasionally been taught by PhD students with no formal training in teaching Mandarin as a foreign language, which I think is very unprofessional given the amount of money these institutions charge for evening classes.