Chinese-Forums

I need Chinese-typing programme for Windows 2000 and Linux.

Cyberian

Hi,

I am a beginner in learning Chinese, and I wish to start practicing with some typing. I am looking for a Chinese-typing programme. With the following options:

1. Menu and options are in English.

2. Uses pinyin

3. Able to be used in programmes like ICQ and word processors.

4. Supports Windows 2000. If possible, suggest one that works on Linux too.

I tried the default Chinese input in Windows 2000, but it doesn't work in ICQ or word processors.

Thanks in advance for the help.

1, NJ star, 2, almsot any chinese input prog. 3, NJstar does only a soft(not real or at least not direct) input of chinese char.

4, I have heard that there are some OS (in HK) has a special edition chinese/english. But i think its just a hoax.

You better install a chinese windows next to your current windows.

NJstar isnt great but its on the of the best software there is avialable.

(Besides you dont need to read chinese in windows. The start button is always south-west of the ur screen :) .)

I am illiterate :oops:. I cannot read or write Chinese. I am starting to learn. If I install a Chinese edition of Windows, I will not be able to understand it or get through the installation properly.

I installed Windows XP in Chinese once, and I do not understand what I was doing in the installation screen.

Cyberian... You know where the start button is right? You have installed WinXP before right? (otherwise ur name is a bit ....)

Chinese Windows is just like any otherwise but its translated... You might start looking for some "auto-install" windows (nLite for exp.).

Chinese Windows has the best (kinda silly to say but) Chinese input/output program.

Otherwise just use Njstar... (crappy program but there are no better ones then this one...)