Chinese-Forums

三国杀 and other party games

feihong

Earlier this year I started playing 三国杀. It is basically a sinofied version of a popular game that we in the west know as Bang!. I enjoyed 三国杀 quite a bit after I got a basic understanding of the rules and strategies. I think it's a good way to practice your Chinese, although the words you end up using are not ones usually found in modern discourse (also, all cards are printed in traditional characters). But I got to thinking, are there any other language-centric party games that are popular in China? When I say "language-centric" I mean games where you have to talk/read/write as part of the gameplay, which would exclude many games such as dice, checkers, mahjjong, etc.

I know there is also 杀人游戏.

• Like 1

Good question, I look forward to what people have to say. I was trying to think the other day of word games that could be played by a group of people at happy hour or something like that to practice Chinese (sometimes, simply picking a conversation topic is a bit of a non-starter). 20 questions could be a simple one, where you think of something and the rest of the people ask yes/no questions until they narrow it down and guess. I'm also curious if there are Chinese games that also fit this bill.

Oh I love 三国杀。

(also, all cards are printed in traditional characters).

I am sure that the one I own is not printed in traditional characters.

There are many drinking games that involve talking. (also none drinking games)

One I recently played is there are two teams and one person from one team gives one of the other teams member a word and he then has to act it(without talking). We usualy play that the maximum is 4 characters words (so you can use chengyus) what is interessting is that you can split it up and mime every character.