Chinese-Forums

Does the usability of flashcard for learning vocab reach an end at some point?

Kongming21

Hey everyone,

basically I have been using flashcards ever since I started learning Chinese. However now after some 3 years of studying what becomes more and more frustrating is the fact that the actual new words I add to my flashcards get less and less, however I seem to more and more frequently just add words which I have reviewed already but have forgotten again. Moreover, very often these words are different 近义词 like 获得,获取,领取whose core meaning in English is more or less the same and only the context they are used in is somewhat different. Normally when encountering words like these in a text I know the core meaning, thus understand the sentence. However when it comes to getting the subtleties of the text or translating the text I struggle and therefore add these words to my flashcards again. Still some of these words I have probably added again to my flashcards many times, but just reviewing them this way does ot seem to work. In addition this lets the amount of flashcards I have to review everyday grow by quite a large number and gives me less time to learn words I actually have never see before and need to learn for the first time.

Therefore I have been asking myself recently whether using flashcards to review for these words(those that I have reviewed a couple of times but whose meaning I am not absolutely sure about or have forgotten completely) is still the right method?

• Like 2

Interesting topic.

Please tell me/us... are you using some kind of spaced repetition software like Supermemo/Anki?

My Chinese level may well be far below yours, so am in no position to teach, but I find that constant "massaging" of my flashcards is helpful, i.e. once I know the translation then modify the card in some way, maybe switch direction, test for antonym, test for synonym.

I've run into the same problem. I'd have three 'and/or' suggestions: