Chinese-Forums

Accomodation for Xiamen University

YElektra

• New Members

I'm planning on going to Xiamen for the spring semester 2012. The problem is that I find way too little information about Xiamen on the internet, at least it's not in English and my Chinese is still very poor.

I would like to go to something like a student dorm because I think it's easier than renting an apartment when it's my first time in China.

First of all: Would you recommend a single or a double room? Did you have any bad experiences with roommates or was it nice to have someone to share a room with you? Since I'm quite shy at the beginning I'm afraid that I might be isolated in a single room. On the other hand I like being alone, so I don't really know what I should choose.

Now the bigger question is which dorm should I take. As I see there are a lot of possibilities (http://english.xmuoec.com/website.aspx?website_id=79&language=en). The price is secondary, it should just be clean and maybe not have the shower head above the toilet etc... Does any one of you have ANY idea on what to choose? I would also be grateful for general tips about choosing an accomodation.

Hey!