Chinese-Forums

Go high or go low, go fast or go slow? Which class is for me...?

Gymnosopher

Hey guys - I have a quick question that I'm hoping someone can advise me on re Chinese classes.

I have just started a semester-long full-time course studying in a university in Xi'an and am finding it hard deciding which level to stick with. As my only previous 'formal' study has been a month or 2 of evening classes spread out at long intervals over the past two years supplemented by a little on-and-off self study I was put into the level 1 class however as I'm a little more than absolute beginner (which all the other students in the group were) the teachers suggested I try the next level up to see if it suits me better.

Now I'll be the first to admit that my ability is pretty lop-sided, with reading and writing way down as study was previously less serious and more conversational, however I do seem to be in a position between the 2 levels and thus lies my dilemma. So here's hoping that someone else has had a similar experience and can point me in the right direction.

And for anyone that wants to have their 2c my initial opinion is this: a) if I go for level 1 then I may have 2/3/4 weeks (or more, depending on how fast slow the group moves) at really basic pronunciation practice before moving onto anything slightly newer for me. Of course, I'd be able to use my spare time to do other self-study. B) if I go for level 2 I'll be playing constant catchup. I tried the lesson today and they were definitely a bit much for me, I got maybe half of what was going on and other have 0.5-1.5 years dedicated study behind them. So not only will homework and prep be harder but I'll be trying to fill in my hanzi/ci gaps at the same time. Understandably this route will be much harder and more stressful though potentially more rewarding if I make it.