Chinese-Forums

Can you write lots of Chinese characters?

realmayo

I know there are lots of people who have great speaking, listening and reading skills, who struggle to hand-write characters from memory -- this includes Chinese people who've fallen out of the habit of writing (versus typing) and consequently forget how to produce certain trickier characters, and foreign learners of Chinese who've realised they don't really need to write by hand and so have opted to use the time saved by not learning writing on other things.

When I started studying reading/writing, I used to test myself on writing new characters and vocab just as much as I tested myself on reading them. I guess I was at around the 2000 character mark when I switched to only testing recognition: I needed to focus on building up my vocabulary, and spending time every day writing out characters and words was too time-consuming. Naturally, I've since forgotten how to write most of those.

But now I'm starting writing again: only individual characters, not words. This is because I'm increasingly finding that I forget or mix up characters when I'm reading. Most commonly, if I see a familiar two-character word, I will recognise it, but if I see one of the characters from that word in different two-character word which I'm not familiar with, I might forget the meaning & pronunciation of that character. These days I can only squeeze an hour or two studying into each day, so I'm not as exposed to Chinese as I was when I was in China.

Given all that, I'm interested in fellow forumites' experiences -- are there plenty of people who've persisted with making sure they can write most of the characters they recognise? Or have most people decided there's not much point? I know this is quite a well-worn topic, but I'm less interested in the argument about whether writing is worthwhile or not, and more just to see if it's unusual to spend time on it these days.

• Like 1