Chinese-Forums

Best textbooks for learning to speak Mandarin?

Guest Ch1nam4n

What are your recommendations as far as textbooks for learning to speak Mandarin? Right now, I'm learning from the Teach Yourself Basic Chinese book. I'm relatively new to learning Chinese, and I want to be able to get a mastery as soon as possible just because I'm so interested in the language and culture. I've been looking on Chinesemall.com and checking out their books. Are they any good?

http://www.chinesemall.com/learchin1.html

Help?[/u]

My school uses the famous Gubo and Palanka series for it's first four semesters of Chinese. I can't remember the name but I bet someone here knows it. I placed out of those classes, so I never used it myself, but my friends liked it, and my teachers treat it like it's the Chinese Bible. It seems a lot of schools here in the US use it to start off.

I'm just about finished with "A Trip to China: an Intermediate Reader of Modern Chinese," by Der-Lin Chao. It's a nice book, but it focuses on reading mostly, and it's probably a little too advanced if you're just starting out. But keep it in mind for the future.

Good textbooks can be hard to find though. This is the only one I've really liked because it gets away from teaching you how to go to the bank or buy shoes and actually gives some useful conversational vocabulary, even though it's a reading book. If you've never lived in China, you'd probably find it interesting, it depicts life in China from an American perspective fairly accurately I think. It gets into social issues like discrimination, family, the chinese educational system, etc. without really being biased on way or the other.