Chinese-Forums

Where to find the very basic characters

Guest MestariTomte

Can somebody point to some reference where I can find those basic Chinese characters. And by basic characters I mean the ones that can't be divided to two or more characters ie. the ones to which all characters derive (like man, mouth, etc.)

Oh, and when was the last basic character invented? I want to know what things were considered most important back then - important to have a character of their own, that is.

ps

I didn't feel like making a post of it own so I'll ask it here: what does qì mean in "duì bù qì", sorry, excuse me.

good questions. first answers (maybe partically correct; i'm only a 3rd year student).

dui4 bu4 qi3 ... means "i cannot face you" ...

there is cultural context behind this expression (saving face is everything)

grammarically, "dui bu qi" is a resultative verb compound (RVC).

you face (dui) the person, but cannot raise (qi) your head to look at them in the whites of their eyes. :oops:

NOTE: qi is the same qi in qi lai "rise up" (first words to China National Song).

similarly RVCs....

mai3 bu4 qi3 ... means "cannot afford [it]"

ting1 bu4 dong3 ... means "cannot [audibly] understand"

.. anyone please feel free to correct me. ^_^ ... on to your 2nd question...

Can somebody point to some reference where I can find those basic Chinese characters. And by basic characters I mean the ones that can't be divided to two or more characters ie. the ones to which all characters derive (like man' date=' mouth, etc.)

Oh, and when was the last [i']basic character[/i] invented? I want to know what things were considered most important back then - important to have a character of their own, that is.

basic characters? i think you are looking for what are called "chinese radicals". i have poster on my wall with all the fundamental components of all more complicated characters. would you like something like that?

if so, maybe you can start here: