Chinese-Forums

no knowledge of mandarin, yet wanting to study it in Shanghai (+choosing uni)

Boung J

Ni Hao everyone,

I'm a twenty three years old dude from Thailand, just graduated from university college london last year. Well, after that i decided I don't really want to work yet so I'm going to be using my savings (+loans from parents) to spent some time abroad learning a third language.

Admittedly, learning Mandarin is not the sole reason. I'm a city person, and all my life I spent in big cities, so naturally Shanghai provides an interesting change of scenery. Though I heard that Beijing, or any other second tier cities, would be a better choice for learning the language, I believe that it won't be much of an issue for me since at the moment I have got no knowledge of the language at all. Would that be a correct assumption to make?

So, I want to learn Mandarin, and spent some time (at least a year, possibly two) in Shanghai (and China generally) to learn the culture and get in touch with my heritage (since, well, I'm a forth generation Chinese immigrant. Does that still count?). But I've got some concerns.

1. Is it a good idea to start Mandarin from scratch here in Shanghai? I mean, between now and Feb I'll try to cram in as much materials as possible to get by once I arrived. But is it a good idea? Should I learn some basics first before going?

2. In that case, would private school be better than university for me? I have been reading around, on this forum and other places, that it would be more individually focused, and that class size would be smaller, thus speeding up the learning process. However, they are somewhat pricey. About twice or triple the cost of what university would cost, and that the student population will be more vibrant with university courses (quite important).