Chinese-Forums

Learning classical Chinese at the same time as modern Mandarin

lwstl4ke

hey, my course at university allows me to take a module in Classical Chinese reading, which would involve learning a whole new set of characters, as I'm still only 12 months into my study of simplified characters, would this become confusing or would you say that it is easy to distinguish between classical and simplified characters and not confuse them?

When I studied Chinese, simplified characters were introduced about a year after complex characters, and they were relatively easy to learn. It should only be a bit more difficult to go the other way. We were given a list of radicals with their simplified and complex forms side-by-side and, I think, a list of the simplfied forms of the complex characters we had learned to that point. That was basically enough for us to be familiar with both forms as we continued to study. Similar lists must be out there. (Some language texts include both forms in the index, but I think yours probably don't.) It might be a little more difficult for you because you won't be spoonfed the different character forms, as I was. On a related topic, because of differences in grammar and usage, Classical Chinese only really starts to "pay off" for learning modern Chinese when you reach a rather high level of fluency with the language. But, if you have the energy and interest to learn Classical for its own sake, I'd say go for it.

Are you sure you'll be using traditional characters for learning classical chinese? It's possible to learn classical chinese with simplified characters, as the major differences between modern and classical Chinese are grammar and vocab related. The character set that is used is not so important, and it could well be that the course will be on classical chinese, but using simplified characters.

yeah I think a lot of people seem to get this confused.

simplified / traditional: two different character sets