Chinese-Forums

Who to go through for a position teaching English - Aston?

Sam Ingram

Hi,

I am a recent graduate of University interested in teaching English as a foreign language abroad with China as my first choice and simultaneously learning Mandarin.

This is something that I have wanted to do for a while now however family issues during University prevented me from taking a year out in order to do so. Last year I applied for the BBC's Journalism Trainee Scheme and was shortlisted, but rejected eventually. I believe this was because I didn't have much experience with languages and have not travelled extensively beyond family holidays. So I see this as an opportunity both to fulfil a small dream and get the experience hopefully necessary to get a place with the BBC once I reapply this year.

I have recently been in contact with Aston who are apparently "extremely interested in my application" and are based in Wuhu. I discovered them on a University jobs website.

I currently have only a BA, with no TEFL qualification. Money is tight at the moment so I would prefer to go for an english teaching job that doesn't require such a qualification. I could scrape the money together if I need to, and I am aware that jobs that don't require TEFL wont be as good as ones that do.

I have researched Aston and it seems like they are not trustworthy. I got that impression from their correspondence. Some of their documentation promises a paid-for apartment, some says you need to find your own but they will help, some says that you have to only pay phone and heating bills while Internet, water and electric is paid for by them. They also promise ten hours of Mandarin lessons a week, but elsewhere promise one or two hours.