Chinese-Forums

Choosing a course for fall 2012: IUP, ICLP, Beida or BLCU

xDragonx

Hi,

I'm planning on studying Chinese in either China or Taiwan for a year starting from September 2012. Having looked through various sites on the net, the forums on here and through discussions with both chinese and non-chinese friends I have narrowed down my course choices to the following five programs:

1) ICLP at National Taiwan University

2) IUP at Beijing Tsinghua University

3) Chinese Language Program for International Students at Beijing Tsinghua University

4) A one-year language course at Peking University

5) A one-year language course at Beijing Language and Culture University

A little about me:

- My Chinese is entirely self-taught and only at the level of an advanced beginner - my formal college education had no electives in Mandarin.

- I am looking to maximise what I can learn in my year of study so the more intensive the course, the better.

- I will be 30 years old when the course starts and so ideally would prefer an environment that has a mix of age groups.

- Course cost is not an issue for me.

- My end-goal is to hopefully move to China and work for a company in Beijing/Shanghai.

Based on this, I was wondering if anyone would be able to provide some advice/recommendations on which of the courses would suit me best?

Specifically, I have the following questions:

1) As I have no college Mandarin or formal certificate to show two years of Mandarin study, is the IUP at Tsinghua an immediate no-go?

2) Is the Chinese Language Program at Tsinghua similar to the IUP there? What are the main differences?

3) Does anyone have any experience of the program at Peking University as their website mentions a "flyer" that contains details but there is no link to it.