Chinese-Forums

clearing things up about non-Mandarin chinese languages

jasons89

Ok, so I'm still a bit confused over the relationship of Mandarin, non-Mandarin Chinese languages, Classical Chinese, and the characters.

Say I'm a student who learned Cantonese at home, and has learned how to understand Standard Written Chinese in school:

-When asked to read a passage aloud, do I give the Cantonese pronunciation of each character, which comes out as something that is not really Cantonese and not really Mandarin, similar to someone using the Mandarin pronunciation of characters when reading something by Confucius?

-Do I give the Cantonese pronunciation for the morphemes that the characters represent? For example, do I use the Cantonese word for "he" when I see 他, even though the Cantonese pronunciation of the character itself is completely different?

-Will the phonetic component of characters in Standard Written Chinese ever guide me in their pronunciation, the way that they do in Mandarin (when I see something with 青 in it, I think "qing")?

What about Written Cantonese?

-Do the phonetic components guide me in pronunciation?

-Assuming the grammar of Cantonese and Mandarin are very similar, why is there a different system at all? Why not just change around the word order around a bit where necessary (給錢我 instead of 給我錢) and leave it at that? Why use something like 畀 instead of 給 (assuming wikipedia is correct) at all?

Please tell me if there are any incorrect assumptions I'm making here as well.

When asked to read a passage aloud, do I give the Cantonese pronunciation of each character

It depends on the occasion. If everyone around you speaks Cantonese, yes. If you are in Mainland China or Taiwan where everyone speaks Mandarin, most probably you will pronounce every word in Mandarin (or at least try to if you don't know any Mandarin at all).