Chinese-Forums

Learning Modern Chinese First?

LyYenKhang

I am a high school student. About two years ago, I first came across Vietnamese poetry written in the Tang Dynasty format. This got me very interested in Tang poetry and has inspired me to study Chinese.

When I first began, I didn't really realize the differences between modern Chinese (Mandarin in this case) and the classical language. Very soon though, it dawned on me that studying modern Mandarin would be of little use to me for being able to read old poetry and the classical texts. I bought McNaughton's Reading and Writing Chinese (Traditional characters) for the sake of learning how to write and studied basic grammar with various older textbooks at a local library but that is it. Probably, it can be said that I have a very basic grasp of modern Chinese grammar. I am beginning to be able to understand some portions of Chinese songs even without reading the characters (Embarassing example: I could sing a long to almost all of the song Tong Hua the first time I see it).