Chinese-Forums

Some questions about written Cantonese / written Chinese in HK

chrisp

Hi all

I've just moved to Hong Kong and, whilst I speak several European languages (English, German and Dutch) I have no prior experience with any Chinese language. I've decided to try and learn some Cantonese, and have already bought a number of books from Greenwood Press / Commercial Press. The issue seems to have been discussed a number of times before, but there are a couple of things that I'm still not quite clear on and would like clarification of:

1. When I see written Chinese around me in Hong Kong, e.g. on restaurant menus, bus advertisements, in shop windows - what is this / what is it more likely to be: standard written Chinese or written Cantonese?

2. The dialogues written in the Greenwood press books such as "Cantonese for English Speakers" and "Learning Cantonese Through Stories - The Story of Minami" - are these written in standard Chinese, or written Cantonese, or some sort of hybrid? Obviously as I'm only just beginning I can't tell, and would like to know exactly what I'm looking at, given that the book doesn't say.

Say a menu in a restaurant is written in standard Chinese, but you have learnt written Cantonese characters - would there be much difference in this case? Would you still be able to read the menu? What about if the reverse were true - could someone that could only read standard written Chinese understand a menu that were written in Cantonese? Or are there no real differences between the two when it comes to food vocabulary?